What is Chakra in Yoga? What is the Importance of Chakras in Human Body

Spread the love

What is Chakra

Chakra is a Sanskrit language word which means “Wheel” or “Cycle”. But in Yoga, the joining point of pulses or their unioun point with each other is called Chakra. Although the meeting point of these pulses in human body are mostly triangular, but still they are called chakras. These are the points inside the body from which the body receives energy, mainly there are seven types. These chakras are the centers of energy flow of our body. It is believed that this chakra is sleeping in the idle state, and if a person awakens these chakras then the condition of his life changes. The awakening of these chakras transforms man into his supreme form which is called awakening of the horoscope. With the help of yoga, one can get activate these Chakras.

In other words Chakras are energy centers through which the energy of the space universe flows into the human body.

Importance of Chakras:

It is believed that if these Chakras (cycles) are sleeping, then your life is also dull. Therefore it is very important to awaken them to attain salvation with absolute bliss. After waking up, they have a great impact on the mind and soul along with the body.  These chakras control our shape, behavior, thoughts and emotion or sensation. When these chakras bloom and form, our body and mind work in a special balance and then our entire personality blossoms like a lotus.

Name of 7 Chakras

Total no. of Chakras: 114.

Total no of Important Chakras in our body: 7

Name of 7 important Chakras in human body are following:

  1. Muladhar Chakra
  2. Swadhishthan Chakra
  3. Manipur Chakra
  4. Anahat Chakra
  5. Vishudhi Chakra
  6. Aagya Chakra/Ajna Chakra/ Bindu Chakra
  7. Shashrara Chakra
 Chakra symbols and captions on separate layers. Isolated vector illustration.
Full body female figure with chakras infographics.

1. Muladhar Chakra:

Muladhara in the first cycle. It resides between the anus and the genitals. In human beings, the desire of excessive indulgence and spiritual desire comes from the Muladhar Chakra.

This Chakra is also known as Bhaum Mandal. This base chakra with four petals physically controls fragrance and healing. At the same time, from the spiritual point of view, Muladhar Chakra is associated with religion, artha, kama and moksha.

Importance of Muladhar Chakra :  The energy of people who have the dominance of enjoyment, sexual intercourse and sleep is gathered around this Chakra. To awaken this cycle, victory over indulgence, sexual intercourse and sleep is necessary. After this chakra is awakened, heroism arises which brings fearlessness and gains siddhis.

The Beej mantra of this Chakra is – “Lan”.

2. Swadhishtan Chakra:

It is the 2nd step in Chakras. It is related to religious feelings, so it is also called religious Chakra. It saves us from negative energy. It is located between the navel center at the bottom of the spinal cord in the human body.

The Beej Mantra for this Chakra is “Van”.

Importance of Swadhisthan Chakra: This Chakra increases creativity and positivity in your personality.

3. Manipura Chakra:

This chakra is considered as the centre of energy, so Manipura Chakra is also known as Energy Chakra.

Manipur Chakra is  located at the core of the naval. The person who controls this Chakra is called a “Karam Yogi”.

Importance of Manipura Chakra: With the activeness of this chakra, emotions like attachment, fear, hatred, shame, jealousy, chugli are controlled. This chakra is used for royal qualities and it increases self-power and self-respect. With these qualities one can face every problem of life.

The Beej Mantra for this Chakra is “Ran”.

4. Anahat Chakra:

Anahat Chakra is the fourth main chakra of the human body. It is situated in the center of the chest in the form of a lotus with 12 petals. The Anahata Chakra is also called the Heart Chakra. As soon as this chakra is balanced, you will be more creative.

Importance of Awaking Anahat Chakra: It prevents the feeling of hypocrisy, violence, sophistry, anxiety, fascination, conceit, indiscretion and arrogance.

The Beej Mantra of this Chakra is “Yan”.

5. Vishuddha Chakra:

Vishuddha chakra is 5th main chakra in human body, It is located behind the throat (Kanth), so its also called Kantha Chakra.

Importance of Awaking Vishuddha Chakra: The person whose Vishuddha Chakkar is balanced, has knowledge of 16 arts. According to Vedas Lord Krishana had successfully awakened this Chakra  and gained control over all 16 arts. This helped him  to control his emotions during different phases in life such as those  Departure from Gokul, Parting with radha etc. Even Lord Rama didn’t posses all these 16 features.

The 16 features of Vishuddha Chakra is:

  1. Money
  2. Land
  3. Fame
  4. Eloquence
  5. Joy
  6. Shine (Glow)
  7. Intellect
  8. Foresight
  9. Motivation & Planning
  10. Wisdom and Knowledge
  11. Diligence
  12. Concentration
  13. Providentially
  14. Truth
  15. Hegemony/Leadership
  16. Benefaction


The Beej Mantra of this chakra is “Han”.

6. Ajna/ Agya Chakra:

Agya Chakra is also known as Drishti Chakra. It situated at the space above nose, which devides both eye bros which is the dividing line between the soul and the divine. Spiritual awareness, self-contemplation and clear thoughts are attained by this cycle.

The Beej mantra of this Chakra has 2 letters – “H” “K”.

Importance of Awaking Agya Chakra: 

When it is awakened, the mind becomes stable and powerful and the seeker has control over the five elements.
Apart from this, the seeker is able to communicate and acquire ideas from this center.
By its awakening, one gets intelligence, memory and strong concentration power. Due to its activation, there is amazing progress in spirituality and there are very good experiences related to spirituality.

7. Shashrara Chakra (Crown Chakra)

This chakra is located just below the peak place in the brain, is a weapon. If this chakra is activated, it means your energy has touched that peak. Shashrara Chakra is also called Kashi of Tantra or Crown Chakra. If a person follows the rule of Yama and awakens this chakra along with the last 6 chakras, then he can achieve the rank of paramahansa. A man who reaches from the base to the Sahastrar Chakra has nothing to do with the world, sanyas and siddhis.

There is no Beej mantra of this chakra.


chakras in yoga

Chakra and Kundlini:

The word Kundalini is derived from the Sanskrit word kundal, which means “curved”. It is believed that Kundalini Shakti sleeps like a snake in the base of every person’s mooladhara chakra, which has to be awakened through hatha yoga practices. The more you succeed in awakening it, the better your overall health will become.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *